home Home
WCAG2AA
Hong Kong Fishnet Endangered Species Animal Welfare and Control
Agriculture Fisheries Country & Marine Parks Conservation Inspection & Quarantine
* Agriculture and Fisheries
           

         
 

Hong Kong Asia's world city


AGRICULTURE

Geographically, Hong Kong consists largely of steep hillside. Only 7 square kilometres of land are actively farmed. Farms are generally small in size and they produce mainly leafy vegetables, pigs or poultry.

Consumption: The daily fresh food consumption by Hong Kong’s population of more than seven million in 2016 included 860 tonnes of rice, 2 323 tonnes of vegetables, 4 174 heads of pigs, 48 heads of cattle and 22 tonnes of poultry in 2016. Many of the above were imported, but Hong Kong’s primary producers helped satisfy some of the demand.

Local Production: The gross value of local agricultural production totalled $1,045 million in 2016. Two per cent of the vegetables Hong Kong people consumed, together with 95 per cent of the live poultry and 7 per cent of the live pigs, came from local farms. Local production is geared to complement rather than compete with other major market suppliers. Production efforts are aimed mainly at high-value fresh food.

Principal Crops: The value of crop production amounted to $331 million in 2016. Vegetable and flower production account for about 95 per cent of the total value, being $313 million in 2016.

    
Vegetable crops grown all year round include Chinese white cabbage, flowering Chinese cabbage, lettuce, Chinese kale, radish, leaf mustard, spring onion and chive. Spinach, watercress and Chinese wolfberry are produced in the cooler months. Yard-long bean, water spinach, Chinese spinach, cucumber and several species of Chinese gourd are produced in summer. A wide range of temperate vegetables including tomato, sweet pepper, cauliflower, carrot and celery is grown in winter.

    
Flower cultivation has gained importance in recent years. Gladiolus, lily and chrysanthemum are grown in winter; and ginger lily and lotus flower in summer. Peach blossom is grown especially for the Lunar New Year.

     A wide range of fruit is grown on the lower hill slopes,
the main types being lychee, longan, wampei, local lemon, orange, tangerine, guava, papaya and banana.

Animal Husbandry: There were 43 local pig farms and 29 local poultry farms as of 2016. In the first half of 2016, local pig production was valued at $160 million and local poultry production including eggs was valued at $200 million.

    
To reduce the public health and environmental pollution problems associated with livestock keeping, the government introduced a Voluntary Surrender Scheme for Poultry and Pig Farms in 2005 and 2006 respectively as well as a Buyout Scheme for Poultry Farms in 2008. These schemes encourage livestock keepers to surrender their Livestock Keeping Licence (LKL) and cease their farm operation permanently in return for exgratia payment. Under these schemes, 162 poultry farmers and 222 pig farmers had surrendered their LKL.

    
Hong Kong has only one licensed dairy farm located in Sha Tau Kok, New Territories.

Agricultural Development: The Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department (AFCD) and its closely related marketing organisations provide infrastructural support and technical services to the various primary industries.

    
The department’s crop specialists undertake studies into practical problems in pest control, crop husbandry and soil management. They also investigate specific production technologies to enhance the efficiency and economic benefits of the industry. This work is carried out in an experimental station in Sheung Shui and results are made available to farmers by the department’s advisory services.

     Agricultural advisory activities are aimed at assisting
farmers to improve productivity through the introduction of new and improved produce varieties and production techniques, backed up by adequate credit facilities and efficient and orderly marketing services.

    
Promotion of adaptive greenhouse and organic production technology to local farms are currently being undertaken.

    
Examples of well-received new produce varieties include supersweet corn, milky pak choi, round eggplant, strawberry and white bitter cucumber.

    
Loans issued to farmers for farm production and development purposes in 2016 amounted to $5.13 million. As at December 31, 2016, the total accumulated deposit under three separate loan funds administered by the AFCD amounted to over $47.2 million.

    
Agricultural development also includes improvement of basic infrastructure, rehabilitation of fallow land and studies in farm management problems. Infrastructural work concentrates on the maintenance and improvement of communal irrigation and drainage facilities.

    
An Accredited Farm Scheme for protecting the environment and consumers against residues of agricultural pesticides was introduced in 1994. Accredited farms are strictly monitored and supervised on uses of pesticides and produce is further checked for pesticide residues before they are sold at accredited retail outlets. As at the end of 2016, a total of 312 farms in Hong Kong and the mainland of China were accredited, supplying about 41 tonnes of accredited produce daily.

    
The AFCD has been providing technical support to local organic farmers since December 2000. The AFCD introduces the organic production standards and requirements to farmers, and helps farmers resolve the problems on integrated pest management, horticultural practices and soil management. As at the end of 2016, a total of 297 farms in Hong Kong joined the service, supplying about 6 tonnes of organic vegetables daily.

    
The AFCD also launched the Local Vegetable Farms Voluntary Registration Scheme in July 2006. As at December 31, 2016, a total of 1 936 vegetable farms had been registered. The department provides technical assistance and agricultural services to registered farmers to enhance their awareness of safe production, good farming techniques and produce quality.

    
The Government announced the implementation of the New Agriculture Policy (NAP) in 2016 to promote the modernisation and sustainable development of local agriculture. A $500 million Sustainable Agricultural Development Fund was launched in December 2016, and open for applications to enhance the overall competitiveness of the agricultural industry. Other major measures under the NAP include establishing the Agricultural Park; exploring the feasibility of designating agricultural priority areas; providing better support and assistance to help farmers move up the value chain; enhancing food safety and marketing as well as brand building of local farm produce; facilitating development of hydroponics and agro-technology; and developing leisure and educational activities related to agriculture. The supportive measures under the NAP will be implemented by the Government progressively in stages.

    
To comply with environmental protection legislation, all livestock farms are required to be licensed and must install appropriate livestock waste treatment systems.

    
Sporadic outbreaks of foot-and-mouth disease and swine fever are kept under control by vaccination, and the AFCD’s veterinary services are equipped to investigate and combat all major animal diseases.

FISHERIES

Capture and aquaculture fisheries make an important contribution to Hong Kong by maintaining a steady supply of fresh fish to local consumers. The total capture fisheries and marine fish culture production is equivalent to about 22 per cent of seafood consumed in Hong Kong, while pond fish farmers produce about four per cent of the freshwater fish eaten.

Capture Fisheries: Hong Kong’s fishing fleet comprises about 5 160 vessels, almost all of which are mechanised. About 23 per cent of the vessels are over 15 metres in length. They are mainly trawlers, liners and gill netters engaged in fishing mainly outside Hong Kong waters along the northern continental shelf of the South China Sea. The remaining 77 per cent of the vessels are mainly gill netters, liners, purse seiners and cage trappers operating mainly in the coastal waters around Hong Kong. In 2016, the estimated production was about 14000 tonnes, valued at $2.57 billion. Major species of fish caught were hairtail, mackerel, scad, big-eye, pomfret and croaker.

Aquaculture Fisheries: Fish ponds in use total 1 135 hectares and are located mainly in the north-western New Territories. The majority of fish farms are engaged in carp polyculture (bighead carp, silver carp, common carp and grass carp) in combination with tilapia or grey mullet. Other cultured species include jade perch, seabreams and spotted scat. Total fish pond production in 2016 amounted to 2 543 tonnes, valued at $53 million.

    
About 950 licensees are engaged in marine fish culture in the 26 fish culture zones designated under the Marine Fish Culture Ordinance. Common species cultured include green grouper, hybrid grouper, Russell’s snapper, mangrove snapper, cobia and pompano. Total marine fish culture production in 2016 amounted to 1 031 tonnes, valued at $86 million.

Development and Services: To promote sustainable development of the fishing industry and conserve fisheries resources in Hong Kong waters, the AFCD pursues a number of fisheries conservation and management measures. The ban on trawling in Hong Kong waters came into effect on December 31, 2012 to restore the seabed and the depleted fisheries resources. The department has strengthened enforcement against trawling activities and other destructive fishing practices. To complement the trawl ban and bring local fisheries industry back to a sustainable path, the Government implemented other fisheries management measures including setting up a registration system for local fishing vessels; limiting new entrants to control the number of fishing vessels and fishing effort; and prohibiting fishing activities of non-local fishing vessels. The department is also preparing for the designation of fisheries protection area to protect important fisheries spawning and nursery grounds.

    
The AFCD has deployed 673 units of artificial reefs with a total volume of over 179 200 cubic metres in Hong Kong waters, with a view to enhancing the fisheries resources. Results of underwater monitoring survey revealed that the deployed artificial reefs supported a higher diversity and abundance of fish species as compared with the nearby natural habitats. Over 220 species of fish, including many high-valued species such as groupers, breams, snappers and sweetlips, are using the reefs for feeding, shelter and as spawning and nursery areas.

    
Besides, continuous emphasis is placed on assisting fishermen to switch to sustainable fisheries and other related operations through provision of technical advice, training, liaison services, grants and credit facilities.

    
To alleviate the manpower shortage of the fishing industry, the AFCD operates the Mainland Fishermen Deckhands Scheme to allow Mainland deckhands to enter Hong Kong to help fishing vessels operators unload their catches at wholesale fish markets. As at December 2016, some 4 500 deckhand quota have been issued to about 660 vessel operators.

    
The AFCD introduced the voluntary Accredited Fish Farm Scheme (AFFS) in 2005 in a bid to enhance the environmental hygiene standards of local fish farms and the quality of cultured fish.  Participating fish farms under the scheme are required to adopt a set of good aquaculture practices. Quality assurance tests including analyses of drug residues and heavy metals in fish are conducted to ensure that the cultured fish meet the food safety standards before marketing. The accredited fish are marked with specially designed fish tags under the Accredited Fish Farm Scheme” brand name to enable easy recognition by the public. To enhance consumers’ confidence in the AFFS products, the AFCD has introduced a new fish tag bearing a unique traceable QR code for the AFFS products.  By scanning the QR code, consumers can obtain the information of the production farm and the food safety test results of the consignment online.  In 2016, 118 fish farms have been accredited under the scheme. 

    
The AFCD conducts aquaculture studies and provides technical services for efficient fish culture methods and husbandry techniques. Techniques on pond fish over-wintering, aeration by venture nozzles and oyster depuration are being transferred to the fish farmers. The AFCD continues to promote the development of local fish hatchery and nursery by conducting training workshops, providing on-farm technical support and offering live feed stock cultures to the interested fish farmers.

    
Good Aquaculture Practices Programme aims to promote modern fish farm management. Under the programme, the AFCD conducts regular farm visits to facilitate early detection of disease outbreaks and to collect water and fish samples for analysis. The department also introduces modern fish farm and health management techniques and practices to fish farmers via workshops and seminars. In 2016, 39 seminars and workshops were conducted. The AFCD also provides fish disease diagnosis and viral screening services.

    
The AFCD has strengthened the red tide reporting network and the proactive phytoplankton monitoring programme with a view to providing early red tide warnings to mariculturists, thereby minimising the impact of red tides on mariculture. In 2016, 11 red tide incidents were recorded in Hong Kong waters.

    
The AFCD administers various loan funds for fishermen and fish farmers for production and development purposes. In 2016, 230 loans amounting to $212.8 million were provided. The Government also set up a fund to provide grants to help the local fishing community move towards sustainable or high value-added operations. As at December 2016, seven applications had been approved, involving a total commitment of about $36.7 million.

    
The department administers the Fish Marketing Organization which is a non-government, non-profitmaking corporation vested in the Director of Marketing (currently the Director of Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation) to provide orderly fish marketing services to both the fishermen and fish traders. The Organization currently runs seven wholesale fish markets in Cheung Sha Wan, Aberdeen, Castle Peak, Shau Kei Wan, Kwun Tong, Tai Po and Sai Kung. Revenue comes from charging commission on the proceeds of sales and fees for using the market facilities. Surplus earnings are channelled back into the industry through the provision of low-interest loans to fishermen, improved services and facilities in the markets and scholarships for fishermen and their children. It also helps promote the marketing of the local fisheries products through its marketing network and participation in trade fairs and exhibitions. 

 
 
Last Review Date : 31 May 2017

主頁 主頁
WCAG2AA
香 港 魚 網 瀕 危 物 種 動 物 福 利 及 監 控
農業 漁業 郊野公園及海岸公園 自然護理 檢驗及檢疫
* 漁農業
 

香港 亞洲國際都會

農業 

香港的土地大多是陡峭的山坡,只有7平方公里的土地用來耕種。農場面積一般較細小,主要生產葉菜、豬或家禽。

消耗量:在2016年,本港七百多萬人每日消耗的新鮮糧食,數量如下:860公噸米、2 323公噸蔬菜、4 174隻豬、48頭牛及22公噸家禽。這些新鮮糧食大多是由外地輸入,但本港農民亦供應各類農產品,以滿足部分需求。

本地生產:2016年本港農產品的總值達10.45億元。本地農場的生產可供應本港蔬菜需求量的2%、家禽的95%及豬隻的7%。本港生產的糧食,旨在補充不足,而非用來與市場的主要供應來源地競爭。因此,本港着重於出產高價及新鮮的食物。

主要農作物:2016年本港農作物的生產總值達3.31億元,其中蔬菜及花卉約佔95%,產值為3.13億元。

  全年都可種植的蔬菜主要有白菜、菜心、生菜、芥蘭、蘿蔔、芥菜、葱和韭菜等。在較涼季節生產的蔬菜包括菠菜、西洋菜和枸杞。夏季出產豆角、通菜、莧菜、青瓜及其他瓜類;冬季則出產種類繁多的溫帶蔬菜,包括番茄、甜椒、椰菜花、甘筍及芹菜。

  近年花卉種植備受重視,其中劍蘭、百合和菊花是冬季生產的花卉;夏季則出產薑花和蓮花;而桃花是特別為農曆新年而培植的。

  各類水果多種植於山麓,主要種類有荔枝、龍眼、黃皮、本地檸檬、橙、橘、番石榴、木瓜和香蕉。

畜牧:截至2016年,本地共有43個豬場及29個家禽農場。2016年上半年本地豬隻及家禽業(包括雞蛋)的產量總值分別為1.6億元及2億元。

  為減輕飼養禽畜帶來的公共衞生及環境污染問題,政府分別在2005年及2006年推出「家禽農場自願退還牌照計劃」及「養豬場自願退還牌照計劃」,並在2008年推出「家禽農場結業特惠補助金計劃」。這些計劃鼓勵禽畜飼養者自願退還其禽畜飼養牌照及終止其農場運作,以換取獲發放特惠金。在這些計劃下,已有162個家禽農場及222個豬場退還飼養禽畜牌照。

  香港只有一個位於新界沙頭角的持牌奶場。

農業發展:漁農自然護理署(漁護署)及與該署有密切關係的統營處,一直向農民提供基礎設施及技術支援服務。

  該署的農作物專家在上水的實驗農場進行實驗,研究病蟲害防治、作物護理及土壤管理等問題,同時亦專題探討作物生產技術,以提高農業的生產力及經濟效益。農民可透過該署的輔導服務,取得上述研究的結果。

  農業輔導旨在透過推介全新及較佳的農產品種及生產技術,輔以足夠信貸支持及高效率、有秩序的銷售服務,協助農民改善生產力。

  現時漁護署正向本地農場推介環控溫室及有機耕作科技。

  廣為接受的新農產品種有:超甜粟米、奶白菜、圓茄子、草莓及白玉苦瓜。

  2016年,漁護署向農民貸出款額 513萬元作農場生產及發展用途。截至2016年12月31日止,由該署管理的三項貸款基金滾存總金額達4,720萬元。

  農業發展工作亦包括基礎設施的改善、農地復耕和農場管理問題的研究。基礎建設的工作集中於維修及改善共用的灌溉和排水設施。

  漁護署自1994年起推行「信譽農場計劃」,以保護環境及保障消費者免受殘餘農藥威脅。所有信譽農場的農藥使用情況均受嚴密監察,產品須通過殘餘農藥的測試,才可經由信譽零售點出售。截至2016年年底,已有312個香港及內地的農場被確認信譽資格,每天供應信譽蔬菜約41公噸。

  漁護署自2000年12月起向本地有機農友提供技術支援服務,介紹有機生產的原則和要求,協助農友解決綜合病蟲防治、園藝技術和土壤管理等有關問題。截至2016年年底,已有297個農場參與有關計劃,每天生產有機蔬菜約6公噸。

  漁護署自2006年7月起推行「本地菜場自願登記計劃」,截至2016年12月31日,已登記的菜場為1 936個。漁護署向已登記的農友提供技術協助及各項農業服務,提高他們對安全生產,優良技術及產品質素的意識。

  政府在2016年公布落實新農業政策,以推動本地農業現代化及持續發展。為數五億元的農業持續發展基金已於2016年12月成立並接受申請,以提升業界整體競爭力。新農業政策的其他主要措施包括設立農業園、探討設定農業優先區的可行性、加強支援和協助農民增值、加強食物安全和為本地農產品進行市場推廣及建立品牌、促進水耕種植及農業科技的研發,以及發展與農業相關的休閒和教育活動。政府將會分階段逐步推行新農業政策下的支援措施。
  
  為遵守環境保護法例,所有禽畜農場必須申領牌照及設置合適的禽畜廢料處理設施。

  對於間有發生的口蹄病及豬瘟,當局採用疫苗注射法加以控制。漁護署亦提供獸醫服務,以追查及對抗所有主要的牲畜疾病。

漁業

本港的捕撈及養殖漁業,對維持供應鮮魚予本地消費者有重要的貢獻。捕撈及海魚養殖的總產量約相等於全港海產消耗量的22%,而魚塘出產的淡水魚,則約佔淡水魚消耗量的4%。

捕撈漁業:香港現有大小漁船約5 160艘,差不多全部是機動漁船。船身長度逾15米的漁船約佔23%,主要是在香港水域以外、南中國海北部大陸架一帶從事捕魚的拖網漁船、釣艇及刺網漁船。餘下77%的漁船,主要為在本港沿岸水域作業的刺網漁船、釣艇、圍網漁船及浸籠漁船。2016年的估計漁獲約14.3萬公噸,總值25.7億元。主要的捕撈漁獲是牙帶、鮫魚、池魚、木棉、䱽魚及䱛魚。

水產養殖業:本港的魚塘,面積共有1 135公頃,主要位於新界西北地區。大部分魚塘均養殖鯉科魚(大頭魚、鯿魚、鯉魚及鯇魚),並混合福壽魚或烏頭一併養殖。其他的養殖品種包括寶石魚、鱲魚和金鼓等。2016年塘魚的總產量為2 543公噸,價值5,300萬元。

  現時約有950個海魚養殖戶,在全港26個根據《海魚養殖條例》指定的魚類養殖區經營海魚養殖業。常見的養殖品種包括青斑、沙巴龍躉、火點、紅鮪、魚仲和黃鱲。2016年海魚養殖的總產量為1 031公噸,價值8,600萬元。

發展與服務:漁護署推行多項漁業存護及管理措施,以促進本地漁業持續發展和存護本港海域的漁業資源。為了使受損的海牀及枯竭的漁業資源得以恢復,禁止在香港水域拖網捕魚的措施於2012年12月31日生效。漁護署已加強執法行動打擊拖網及破壞性捕魚活動。政府亦推行其他漁業管理措施,以配合禁止拖網捕魚措施及推動本港漁業持續發展,包括設立本地漁船登記制度、限制新漁船加入,以控制漁船數目及捕撈力量,以及禁止非本地漁船捕魚。此外,漁護署籌備設立漁業保護區,以保護重要漁業產卵和育苗場。

  漁護署在香港水域一共敷設了673座人工魚礁,總體積合計超過179 200立方米,以增加漁業資源。水底監察結果顯示,在人工魚礁棲息的魚類品種和數目,都比附近的天然生境為多。現時有超過220種魚類在人工魚礁內覓食、棲息、產卵和育苗,當中包括多種高價品種的魚類如石斑、𩶘魚、鯛魚和細鱗等。

  漁護署透過技術支援、培訓、聯絡服務、資助及信貸安排,加強協助捕撈業界轉型至其他可持續發展的漁業或相關行業。

  為了紓緩漁業人手不足的問題,漁護署繼續實施「內地過港漁工計劃」,容許內地漁工進入香港協助漁船船東在魚類批發市場卸下漁獲。截至2016年12月,漁護署共發出了約4  500個內地漁工配額給約660艘船隻的船主。

  漁護署自2005年起推行自願性的「優質養魚場」計劃,協助促進本地水產養魚場的環境衞生及養魚的質素。參加計劃的養魚場須實施一套良好水產養殖方法,而養魚出售前必須通過品質保證測試,包括檢驗養魚體內的殘餘藥物及重金屬水平,以確保養魚符合食物安全標準。所有獲計劃認證的養魚身上均打上「優質養魚場」品牌的標籤,以便市民識別。為提升市民對「優質養魚場」漁產品的信心,漁護署推出全新的二維碼溯源標籤。透過掃瞄標籤上的二維碼,市民便能於網上讀取有關養魚場的資料及漁產品的食品安全檢測結果。在2016年,有118個養魚場成功登記為「優質養魚場」。

  漁護署進行水產養殖研究,並提供技術支援服務,以發展更具效率的養魚方法和經改良的飼養技術,例如向本地養魚戶轉移魚塘越冬棚、負壓曝氣增氧及牡蠣淨化等養殖技術。漁護署繼續致力發展本地孵化及培育魚苗,為漁民舉辦培訓工作坊,並為有意發展孵化育苗的養魚戶提供活生物餌料培養原種及技術支援。

  「良好水產養殖管理計劃」旨在推廣現代養魚場管理方法。漁護署派員定期探訪養魚戶及檢測養魚場的水質及魚類樣本,監察養魚場及養魚的情況,以便及早察覺魚類疾病。漁護署並透過講座和實地示範,推廣現代養魚場及魚類健康管理方法。漁護署於2016年共舉辦了39場良好水產養殖管理講座和工作坊。漁護署亦提供魚類疾病診斷及病毒檢測服務。

  漁護署已加強紅潮報告網絡和浮游植物監察計劃,以及盡早向養魚戶發出紅潮警告,盡量減少養魚業因紅潮而蒙受的損失。在2016年,香港水域內錄得11宗紅潮事件。

  漁護署管理各項貸款基金,為漁民和養魚戶提供漁農業貸款作生產或發展之用。在2016年,該署發放了230宗貸款,涉及的款項總值2.128億元。另外,政府設立了一項資助基金,以協助本地漁業社群發展為或轉型至可持續或高增值的作業模式。截至2016年12月,7宗申請已獲批准,涉及總承擔額約3,670萬元。

  漁護署透過管理魚類統營處,為漁民和魚商提供有秩序的海魚批銷服務。魚類統營處是非牟利的非政府機構,由統營處處長(漁護署署長)執行職權。該處現時經營七個魚類批發市場,分別位於長沙灣、香港仔、青山、筲箕灣、觀塘、大埔和西貢,其經費主要來自提供海魚批銷服務及市場設施所收取的佣金和費用,所得盈餘則撥歸漁業發展用途,例如向漁民提供低息貸款、改善服務和統營設施,以及為漁民及其子弟提供獎學金等。該處亦透過其銷售網絡和參加展銷會及食品展覽,幫助推廣本地的漁產品。

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
覆檢日期 : 二零一七年五月三十一日