home Home
WCAG2AA
Hong Kong Fishnet Endangered Species Animal Welfare and Control
Agriculture Fisheries Country & Marine Parks Conservation Inspection & Quarantine
* Country Parks and Conservation
 

Hong Kong Asia's world city

COUNTRY PARKS

Although Hong Kong is one of the world’s metropolis
es, out of the total 1 108 square kilometres of land, about three quarters is countryside. Scenically, Hong Kong has a great deal to offer — a landscape rising from sandy beaches and rocky foreshores to heights of almost 1 000 metres, woodlands and mountain ranges covered by open grassland and a variety of scenic vistas rarely, if ever, matched in so small a territorial unit.

     The Country Parks Ordinance provides a legal framework for the designation, development and management of country parks and special areas. It provides for the establishment of a Country and Marine Parks Board to advise the Director of Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation on all matters related to country parks and special areas.

    
A total of 24 country parks have been designated for the purposes of nature conservation, countryside recreation and outdoor education. There are 22 special areas created mainly for the purpose of nature conservation.

The Parks: The country parks and special areas cover a total area of 44 300 hectares. The country parks comprise scenic hills, woodlands, reservoirs and coastline in all parts of Hong Kong. The Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department (AFCD) manages the parks and is responsible for tree planting, plantation enhancement, conservation education, fire prevention and fighting, keeping country parks clean, development control and provision of recreation and education facilities. The country parks are very popular with all sectors of the community and spending a day in a country park is accepted by many as one of the best recreational choices in town. Some 13 million visitors were recorded in 2016 and most visitors engaged in hiking, leisure walking, fitness exercises, barbecuing, family picnics and camping.

Facilities: Park facilities provided in recreational sites include tables and benches, barbecue pits, litter bins, children’s play apparatus, shelters, campsites and toilets — all carefully designed to blend in with the environment.

    
Footpaths and country trails provide easy access to the hills and the woodlands for visitors to enjoy the scenic beauty of these areas. Major paths are regularly improved and waymarked. The four long-distance hiking trails are very popular among hikers. The MacLehose Trail (100 kilometres) traverses the New Territories from Sai Kung in the east to Tuen Mun in the west. The Lantau Trail (70 kilometres) is a circular trail on Lantau Island. The Hong Kong Trail (50 kilometres) traverses all the five country parks on Hong Kong Island. The Wilson Trail (78 kilometres) stretches from Stanley in the south of Hong Kong Island to Nam Chung in the north New Territories.

Education and Visitor Services: Leaflets are published to help visitors to enjoy and understand the country parks. The Lions Nature Education Centre at Tsiu Hang Special Area in Sai Kung is a special attraction to visitors as it consists of both indoor and outdoor displays of vegetables, rocks and minerals and other local vegetation. The Woodside Biodiversity Education Centre at 50 Mount Parker Road in Quarry Bay introduces Hong Kong’s precious nature resources and biodiversity. Along nature trails and tree walks, there are on-site interpretative signs for those who wish to study the nature. Websites and smartphone applications are developed to provide the public with information about hiking trails and tree walks in country parks.

    
Furthermore, community-involved conservation programmes such as the Nature in Touch Education Programmes, Hiking and Planting Days, Take Your Litter Home Public Education Programme, School Visit Programme, Country Parks Volunteer Scheme, Guided Walks and many other educational activities, have also been organised.

MARINE PARKS

The Marine Parks Ordinance protects and conserves the marine environment and a rich collection of aquatic animals and plants, such as corals, sea grasses and dolphins. The ordinance also provides the legal framework for the designation, control and management of marine parks and marine reserves. The Marine Parks and Marine Reserves Regulation provides for the prohibition and control of certain activities in marine parks and marine reserve.

The Parks/Reserve:
There are five marine parks and one marine reserve covering a total sea area of 3 400  hectares. They comprise scenic coastal areas, seascapes and important marine habitats. 

     Marine parks are managed with an approach of multiple use for conservation, education, recreation and scientific studies. Only activities compatible with the objectives of marine parks would be allowed. Diving, snorkeling, canoeing, sailing, underwater photography and school visits are popular activities in marine parks. Activities destructive to marine environment and coastal features such as trawling, unauthorised fishing, hunting or collecting of marine life are prohibited. On-site information boards, mooring buoys and markers are installed. Educational activities such as guided tours and public lectures are regularly organised to enhance the public’s sense of conservation of marine environment. The marine reserve is strictly protected for nature conservation and scientific studies, hence no recreational activities are allowed.

GEOPARK

The Hong Kong UNESCO Global Geopark is located in the eastern part of Hong Kong and extends from the northeast of the New Territories to the Sai Kung area. It is a single entity where sites and landscapes of international significance are holistically managed with the support of local communities and other geopark stakeholders.

Sai Kung Volcanic Rock Region: This region displays hexagonal volcanic rock columns, which are world class in terms of size and coverage.

          High Island:
A splendid array of hexagonal rock columns is exposed along the coast of High Island, and the Tai Long Wan coast nearby showcases a coastal landform of volcanic rocks.

          Ung Kong Group:
The islands that made up the Ung Kong Group showcase some spectacular hexagonal rock columns, precipitous cliffs and sea arches, such as those at Wang Chau and Basalt Island of 30 metres and 45 metres high.

          Ninepin Group:
The Ninepin Group is made up of East Ninepin, South Ninepin and North Ninepin, and several small rock islets. Imposing hexagonal rock columns of North Ninepin Island are particularly gigantic, with some measuring over two metres in diameter.

          Sharp Island:
The coasts of Jin Island and southwest Kau Sai are dominated by columnar joints of tetragonal or pentagonal shapes. Sharp Island is covered by different volcanic rocks such as lava and eutaxite.

Northeast New Territories Sedimentary Rock Region: This region represents the most comprehensive stratigraphy of sedimentary rocks in Hong Kong, ranging from Devonian sandstone and conglomerate of about 400 million years of age to Tertiary siltstone of 65 million years old.

          Double Haven:
As a result of the rise in sea level 6 000 to 8 000 years ago, the river valleys in Double Haven were flooded, therefore forming indented shorelines with headlands and bays. Famous landforms here include Hung Shek Mun, Camp Cove and Double Island.

          Tolo Channel:
The rocks along the north coast of Tolo Channel are the oldest in Hong Kong. Ma Shi Chau represents the sedimentary rocks formed some 280 million years ago; various igneous rocks and sedimentary rocks at Lai Chi Chong of south coast were formed 140 million years ago.

          Port Island and Bluff Head:
Bluff Head (Wong Chuk Kok Tsui) has the oldest rocks in Hong Kong, formed by deposits at estuarine deltas about 400 million years ago. Port Island (Chek Chau) is best known for its red conglomerate, sandstone and siltstone resulted from the iron components that oxidized about 100 million years ago.

          Tung Ping Chau:
Tung Ping Chau has the youngest rocks in Hong Kong which are only 65 million years old. The island displays a unique sedimentary rock landscape in Hong Kong with various abrasion landforms, such as Lung Lok Shui (literally meaning a dragon entering into the sea).

CONSERVATION

The nature conservation policy is to regulate, protect and manage natural resources that are important for the conservation of biological diversity of Hong Kong in a sustainable manner, taking into account social and economic considerations, for the benefit and enjoyment of the present and future generations of the community.  The first city-level Biodiversity Strategy and Action Plan for Hong Kong was published in December 2016, to step up conservation efforts and support sustainable development.

    
The proportion of land area put under the protected area system in Hong Kong compares favourably with other cities/places at similar stage of economic development. Moreover, despite its small size and rapid development over the years, Hong Kong still enjoys a rich biological diversity. The AFCD, through its territory-wide survey programme, identifies and monitors the important components of biological diversity in Hong Kong. The AFCD also publishes field guides on various animals and plants of Hong Kong and maintains the Hong Kong Biodiversity Online (www.hkbiodiversity.net) and Hong Kong Live Eco-map (www.hkecomap.net) to introduce Hong Kong’s biological diversity to the community.

Habitat Protection: About 40 per cent of land in Hong Kong has been designated as country parks and special areas which provide statutory protection for the habitats of diverse flora and fauna. In addition, 67 Sites of Special Scientific Interest (SSSIs) have been listed to recognise the scientific importance of these sites and to ensure that due consideration to conservation is given when developments in or near these sites are proposed. For example, Ma On Shan and Sha Lo Tung have been listed as SSSIs in recognition of the presence of the diverse populations of azaleas and dragonflies in Hong Kong respectively.

    
The AFCD also implements active conservation programmes to enhance important habitats. These include creation of wetlands and butterfly gardens in country parks and management of vegetation in forests and egretries.

Flora: The flora of Hong Kong is diverse in character and surprisingly rich in species. Many typical species of the Southeast Asian tropical flora are seen here at the limit of their northern distribution range. More than 3 300 species and varieties of vascular plants have been recorded in Hong Kong, approximately 2 100 of which are native and the rest are introduced or of exotic origin.

Hong Kong Herbarium: Established in 1878, the AFCD's Hong Kong Herbarium is responsible for the systematic collection, identification and curation of plant specimens of the Hong Kong flora. The Herbarium also publishes the Check List of Hong Kong Plants, herbarium leaflet series and other related technical publications (e.g. Flora of Hong Kong). It plays a significant role in supporting the studies on taxonomy, ecology and conservation of Hong Kong flora. Currently it houses approximately 44 400 plant specimens and is equipped with a specialised library and a plant database (herbarium.gov.hk) to support its function.

Conservation of Flora: Efforts have been made to conserve native flora in Hong Kong. In addition to habitat protection, they are also conserved through the following approaches.

          Species Protection:
Under the Forests and Countryside Ordinance, damaging plant in any forest or plantation on government land is prohibited. Some rare and attractive species such as Camellia species, Enkianthus quinqueflorus, Iris speculatrix and Impatiens hongkongensis, are specifically listed in the Forestry Regulations to control their sale and possession.

          Propagation:
Various methods such as seed collection, cutting, air layering, etc, have been used to propagate Hong Kong’s native flora including rare and endangered species in the AFCD’s plant nursery. The seedlings are planted in the countryside for enriching local biodiversity. Rare species successfully propagated include Keteleeria fortunei, Camellia crapnelliana and Camellia granthamiana.

          Ex-situ Conservation:
A base for flora conservation has been set up at the Shing Mun Arboretum. About 300 species representative to the native flora, including some rare and endangered species have been propagated and established there for conservation and education purposes. A greenhouse has also been set up for conservation of fragile species and orchids.

Terrestrial Mammals: Hong Kong has over 50 species of terrestrial mammals. Red Muntjacs are heard and seen in wooded areas from time to time. Large mammals like Leopard Cats, Small Indian Civets, East Asian Porcupines and Masked Palm Civets are often found at night in woodland areas. There are Eurasian Wild Pigs in the countryside areas, occasionally causing damage to crops.

    
Unlike others, Rhesus Macaques are easily seen in Kam Shan and Shing Mun Country Parks. Visitors are reminded not to feed these wild animals as uncontrolled feeding has led to unnatural growth of the monkey population and caused nuisances. A feeding ban has been implemented and enforced in the area since July 1999 to help the monkeys revert back to forage for natural food in the natural environment.

    
Smaller mammals such as Pallas’s Squirrels, Chestnut Spiny Rats and Musk Shrews are commonly encountered in rural areas while certain bats like Himalayan Leaf-nosed Bats, Pomona Leaf-nosed Bats and Chinese Horseshoe Bats can be found in caves and water tunnels.

Birds: Hong Kong is a major stopover point of East Asia’s migration routes for birds. The wide variety of local habitats including wetlands, grasslands, woodlands, seashores and farmlands contribute to the diversity of the birds. There are over 540 species of wild birds including residents, winter visitors, passage migrants, summer visitors, occasional visitors and vagrants recorded in Hong Kong. 61 of them are globally threatened or near-threatened species. About 100 resident species have been recorded breeding in the territory.

    
The Mai Po Marshes are listed as a Restricted Area under the Wild Animals Protection Ordinance and access is restricted to permit holders. This area comprises extensive mudflat, mangrove and gei wais which are the richest wetland habitats for migratory birds in Hong Kong. The Marshes form part of the 1 500-hectare Mai Po Inner Deep Bay Ramsar Site which was listed as a Wetland of International Importance under the Ramsar Convention in 1995. The Ramsar Site is also a site of the "East Asian-Australasian Flyway Site Network" for enhancing international communication and cooperation in the conservation of migratory waterbirds. About 400 species of birds, including a number of endangered species (e.g. Black-faced Spoonbill, Spoonbilled Sandpiper and Nordmann’s Greenshank), have been recorded in the Ramsar Site.

Amphibians and Reptiles: Hong Kong has over 100 species of amphibians and reptiles. Among them, snake is the largest group, with 52 species. The largest snake is the locally protected Burmese Python, whose body length could reach up to 6 metres. On the other hand, the smallest member, Common Blind Snake, is only 15 centimetres in length. There are 21 native species of lizards, including the endemic Bogadek’s Burrowing Lizard, which can only be found on a few outlying islands. There are 10 native species of chelonians in Hong Kong, among which the Green Turtle is of particular conservation interest in that it is the only species of sea turtles breeding locally. The nesting site of Green Turtles at Sham Wan of Lamma Island was designated as a Restricted Area in 1999 to minimise human disturbance and protect the species during the breeding season.

    
Hong Kong has a total of 24 species of amphibians. Three of them, Hong Kong Cascade Frog, Hong Kong Newt and Romer's Tree Frog, have been listed as protected wild animals under the Wild Animals Protection Ordinance. A site that supports one of the largest populations of the Romer's Tree Frog, part of Ngong Ping on Lantau Island, has also been designated as a Site of Special Scientific Interest (SSSI ) in May 1999 to protect the habitat of the species.

Insects: Hong Kong has a rich insect fauna. There are 236 species of butterflies, including the beautiful Swallowtails. With wings that span up to 30 centimetres, the Atlas Moth is outstanding for its large size among the numerous species of moths found in Hong Kong. The Indian Moon Moth is eye-catching for the long tails on its hindwings. With 123 species recorded, there is also a great diversity of dragonfly fauna in Hong Kong. Some of the species are endemic to Hong Kong and even new to science.

Aquatic Animal: The marine fauna of Hong Kong is exceedingly diverse. Though primarily tropical, it is an admixture of tropical South China Sea and temperate Chinese forms because of the seasonal fluctuations of warm and cold water and monsoon weather conditions.

    
Of an estimated 1 800 species of fish on the South China continental shelf, clupeoids, croakers and sea breams are the dominant groups in Hong Kong waters. Farther offshore, golden thread, big-eyes and others are also of high value to fishermen.

    
Marine invertebrates are also abundant, ranging from corals, molluscs to crustaceans. There are 84 species of stony corals in Hong Kong. The richest coral communities prevail to the east of Hong Kong where the waters are both sheltered and free from the influence of Pearl River.

    
Chinese White Dolphins and Finless Porpoises are resident species and can be found year-round. All cetaceans are protected in Hong Kong under the Wild Animals Protection Ordinance.

    
There are over 190 species of freshwater fish, of which about 70 primary freshwater species spend their entire lives in freshwater. Of the primary freshwater fish, cyprinids are dominant. Two other major groups of freshwater fish are brackish species and marine vagrants, each with about 50 species recorded in Hong Kong.

Hong Kong Wetland Park: The Hong Kong Wetland Park aims to promote nature conservation and education, as well as nature-based tourism. The 61-hectare park comprises a 10 000-square meter visitor centre with interactive galleries showcasing the functions and values of wetlands and an outdoor wetland reserve with a wide range of habitats, including freshwater marshes, mangroves, woodlands, shrublands, reedbeds and mudflats, demonstrating the diversity of Hong Kong’s wetland ecosystem. With spectacular displays in a delightful natural setting, the park offers a rewarding experience for visitors to discover the wonderful world of wetlands.

    
The park also serves as a hub of nature conservation education organising numerous activities for the general public, schools and tourists, such as guided tours, workshops, lectures and volunteers’ programmes. Visitors can reach the park by taking the Light Rail at Tin Shui Wai West Rail Station. The standard admission fee to the park is $30. Concessionary tickets, including those for students, seniors (aged 65 or above) and people with disabilities, are also offered at $15.

 
Last Review Date : 31 May 2017

主頁 主頁
WCAG2AA
香 港 魚 網 瀕 危 物 種 動 物 福 利 及 監 控
農業 漁業 郊野公園及海岸公園 自然護理 檢驗及檢疫
* 郊野公園及自然護理
 

香港 亞洲國際都會


郊野公園 

 

香港是個國際城市,但境內1 108平方公里的土地,約四分之三仍是郊野。這塊彈丸之地有着無數迷人的風景 — 大海之濱,有淺灘偉岸;群山疊嶺間,有草坡茂林;不論從海邊遠眺或由千米的山巔俯瞰,均可見山水相連,風光如畫。


  《郊野公園條例》就郊野公園和特別地區的指定、發展和管理,提供了法律根據。該法例規定設立一個郊野公園及海岸公園委員會,就有關郊野公園和特別地區的一切事務,向漁農自然護理署署長提供意見。


  香港現有24個郊野公園和22個特別地區。闢設郊野公園旨在保護大自然,以及向市民提供郊野康樂和戶外教育設施。至於闢設特別地區,主要目的是保護自然生態。


郊野公園:
郊野公園和特別地區共佔地44 300公頃。郊野公園遍布全港各處,範圍包括風景宜人的山嶺、叢林、水塘和海濱地帶。漁農自然護理署(漁護署)負責管理郊野公園,主要工作有植樹造林、優化林地、自然教育、防止及撲滅山火、保持郊野公園清潔、管制郊野公園內的發展項目和提供郊野康樂及教育設施。郊野公園深受各階層人士歡迎,不少人認為,城市生活繁囂,暢遊郊野公園是最有益身心的康樂活動之一。在2016年,前往郊野公園的遊人約有1 300萬人次,進行的活動主要包括遠足、漫步、健身、燒烤、家庭旅行及露營等。


康樂設施:郊野公園康樂地點的設施包括桌椅、燒烤爐、廢物箱、兒童遊戲設備、涼亭、營地和廁所等。上述設施均經精心設計,與大自然環境互相配合。


  當局闢建各種小徑及郊遊徑,供遊人在山林中漫步,欣賞大自然景色,亦恆常改善各條主要山徑和設置路標。四條長途遠足徑均深受遠足人士歡迎。麥理浩徑(全長100公里)跨越新界,由東面的西貢伸延至西面的屯門。鳳凰徑(全長70公里)是位於大嶼山的環迴遠足徑。港島徑(全長50公里)跨越港島五個郊野公園。衞奕信徑(全長78公里)由港島南部的赤柱伸延至新界北部的南涌。

 

教育及遊客服務:漁護署出版有關郊野公園的單張,以助遊人欣賞和認識郊野公園。另外,位於西貢蕉坑特別地區內的獅子會自然教育中心設有戶外及戶內的展覽,展出各式各樣的蔬菜、礦石及其他本土植物。位於鰂魚涌柏架山道50號的林邊生物多樣性自然教育中心,介紹香港珍貴的自然資源和生物多樣性。漁護署在各自然教育徑及樹木研習徑沿途裝設解說牌,介紹郊野的動植物和各類生態。市民亦可從互聯網及智能手機應用程式取得有關郊野公園遠足徑及樹木研習徑的資料。


  公眾參與的自然護理及教育活動,包括有「體驗自然」教育活動計劃、「遠足植樹日」、「自己垃圾 自己帶走」公眾教育活動、「訪校計劃」、「郊野公園義工計劃」、導賞遊及其他多項教育活動等。

 

海岸公園


《海岸公園條例》旨在保護和護理海洋環境及種類繁多的海洋動植物,例如珊瑚、海草和海豚。該法例就海岸公園及海岸保護區的指定、管轄和管理,提供了法律根據。《海岸公園及海岸保護區例》就禁止和管制在海岸公園及海岸保護區內進行某些活動,作出規定。


海岸公園/保護區:香港共有五個海岸公園及一個海岸保護區,覆蓋面積共3 400 公頃。這些地方擁有景色優美的海岸區、海洋景觀,以及重要的海洋生境。
  

  海岸公園具有自然護理、教育、康樂和科學研究用途。漁護署按照多用途兼容的方針管理,准許在海岸公園內進行與公園目的相符的活動。潛水、浮潛、划獨木舟、駕駛風帆、水底攝影和學校考察都是海岸公園內受歡迎的活動。至於會破壞海洋環境的活動,如拖網捕魚、未經許可釣魚、捕獵或收集海洋生物,以及破壞海洋或岸邊景物的活動均一律禁止。公園內設有告示板、繫泊浮泡和標誌浮標。此外,為了提高市民對護理海洋環境的意識,漁護署定期舉辦導賞團和公開講座等教育活動。海岸保護區只供自然護理和科學研究用途,區內不得進行康樂活動。

 

地質公園


香港聯合國教科文組織世界地質公園位於香港東部,是由新界東北延伸至西貢區的一個完整範圍,並在地區及其他地質公園持份者的支持下,以整全的概念管理公園內具有國際地質價值的地點和景觀。


西貢火山岩園區:這園區展示的六角形岩柱,不論其規模或分布範圍,均屬世界罕見。


  糧船灣:糧船灣沿岸一帶布滿排列整齊的六角形岩柱,而位於不遠處的大浪灣海岸的火山岩海岸地貌,同樣宏偉壯觀。
  

  甕缸群島:甕缸群島由多個島嶼組成,沿岸盡是密集排列的六角形岩柱、懸崖峭壁和海蝕拱,如橫洲及火石洲的海蝕拱,它們分別高30米及45米。
  

  果洲群島:果洲群島由南果洲、北果洲、東果洲,以及多個小島和石排組成,其中北果洲的六角形岩柱尤為壯觀,有些岩柱直徑可達兩米以上。
  

  橋咀洲:吊鐘洲和滘西洲西南部海岸的柱狀節理主要為四方或五方的岩柱。橋咀洲則擁有多種火成岩,包括熔岩和條紋斑雜岩等。


新界東北沉積岩園區:
這園區展現了香港最完整的沉積地層,包括4億年前泥盆紀形成的砂岩和礫岩,以至僅有6 500萬年歷史的第三紀粉砂岩。
  
  印洲塘:
在6 000至8 000年前,因海平面上升,海水淹沒了印洲塘一帶原是河谷的陸地,形成灣灣相連,眾島環抱的內海環境。這裏著名的地貌景點有紅石門、白沙頭及往灣洲。


  赤門:赤門北岸擁有香港最古老的岩石,海峽西面的馬屎洲則展現在大約2.8億年前形成的沉積岩,南岸荔枝莊的多種火山岩和沉積岩則是1.4億年前的產物。


  黃竹角咀及赤洲:黃竹角咀擁有香港最古老的岩石,大約於4億年前由聚積在河口三角洲的沉積物形成;赤洲以紅色礫岩、砂岩和粉砂岩著稱,其赤紅顏色是大約1億年前岩中鐵質氧化的結果。


  東平洲:東平洲擁有香港最年輕的岩石,僅有6 500萬年歷史。島上展現獨一無二的沉積岩景觀及海蝕地貌,如龍落水。

自然護理


香港的自然護理政策旨在以可持續的方式規管、保護和管理對維護本港生物多樣性至為重要的天然資源,同時顧及社會及經濟等因素,使市民能夠享用這些資源,並惠及後人。香港首份城市級的《生物多樣性策略及行動計劃》已於2016年12月公布,以保育生物多樣性及支持可持續發展。


  香港的自然保護區所覆蓋的土地比率,較很多經濟發展相若的城市及地區優勝。雖然香港只是彈丸之地,而且多年來發展迅速,但是生物多樣性仍然非常豐富。漁護署透過全港調查計劃,確認及監測本港生物多樣性的重要組成部分。此外,漁護署亦出版香港不同動植物種的圖鑑,並設有「香港生物多樣性網頁」(網址:www.hkbiodiversity.net)及「香港在線生態地圖」(網址:www.hkecomap.net),向市民介紹本港的生物多樣性。


生境的保護:本港約有四成土地劃為郊野公園及特別地區,內裏的動植物品種豐富多姿,其生境受法例保護。另有67處地方被列為具特殊科學價值地點,以確認其科學價值。舉例來說,馬鞍山和沙羅洞因分別擁有品種繁多的杜鵑花和蜻蜓種群而被列為具特殊科學價值地點。日後如在這些地點內或其附近地區有發展計劃時,有關當局會慎重考慮自然保育的問題。
  

  漁護署亦推行積極的自然護理措施,以提高重要生境的價值,當中包括於郊野公園內建造濕地和蝴蝶園及管理樹林和鷺鳥林內的植物。


植物:本港屬東南亞熱帶植物區的最北邊緣,植物種類繁多,各有特色。現已記錄的維管植物有超過3 300個品種和變種,其中約2 100種是本土植物,餘下的為引進或外來品種。

 

香港植物標本室:漁護署轄下的香港植物標本室於1878年成立,負責有系統地採集、鑑定及管理本港植物的標本。標本室亦出版《香港植物名錄》、單張及相關的書籍(例如《香港植物誌》),為研究香港植物的分類、生態及存護提供重要的支援。標本室現時除了藏有約44 400個標本外,更設有一個專科圖書館及網上資料庫 (網址:herbarium.gov.hk ),提供相關的資料作支援。


植物的存護:漁護署致力存護本地的原生植物。除了保護生境之外,這些物種也透過以下的方式進行保護。
  
  品種保護:根據《林區及郊區條例》,任何人不得損毀在政府土地上林區及植物區內的植物。一些稀有及常吸引人採摘的植物,例如所有野生茶花、吊鐘、小花鳶尾及香港鳳仙等,更被列入《林務規例》內,嚴禁管有及售賣。
  
  繁殖工作:漁護署以採種、插枝及高空壓條等繁殖方法,在苗圃裏繁殖本地的原生植物,包括稀有及瀕危的種類。這些苗木會種植在郊野,以豐富本地的生物多樣性。一些稀有植物成功繁殖的例子包括油杉、紅皮糙果茶(克氏茶)及大苞山茶(葛量洪茶)。
  
  遷地保護:漁護署已建立城門標本林作為植物存護基地。林內種植了約300個具代表性的本地原生品種,其中包括一些稀有及瀕危的種類,以作存護及教育的用途。漁護署也設置一所環境調控溫室,以存護一些較脆弱的植物及蘭花。

 

陸棲哺乳動物:本港現有超過50種大小不一的陸棲哺乳動物,在樹林不時可聽到赤麂的叫聲或發現牠們的蹤影。夜間可在林區見到豹貓、小靈貓、東亞豪豬及果子狸等大型哺乳動物。野豬在一些鄉郊地區出沒,有時更對農作物造成損害。
  

  與其他哺乳動物不同,獼猴經常在金山及城門郊野公園內出沒。遊人切記不可餵飼牠們,因為餵飼猴子會令牠們的數目違反自然地增加及對人造成滋擾。自1999年7月開始,禁止餵飼野生動物的法例已經實施。有關法例禁止遊人在郊野公園內餵飼猴子,目的是協助猴子重返大自然生活,自行在山林中 覓食。
  

  在郊區也有頗多較小型的哺乳動物如赤腹松鼠、針毛鼠、臭鼩等出沒。另有一些蝙蝠如大蹄蝠、小蹄蝠及中華菊頭蝠,可在洞穴和引水隧道內找到。

 

鳥類:香港是東亞鳥類遷飛路線上的重要中途站。本地不同種類的生境如濕地、草原、樹林、海岸及耕地,為不同的鳥類提供棲息地。香港總共記錄了超過540種野生鳥類,有留鳥、冬候鳥、春秋過境遷徙鳥、夏候鳥、偶見鳥及迷鳥,當中包括61種全球受威脅或近危鳥種。在本港繁殖的留鳥約有100種。


  本港最富饒的候鳥棲息地是米埔沼澤區,而它已根據《野生動物保護條例》被列為限制地區,持有許可證的人士始能進入。該處有大片的泥灘、紅樹林和基圍濕地生境。米埔沼澤區是米埔內后海灣拉姆薩爾濕地的一部分。該濕地的面積共1 500公頃,於1995年根據《拉姆薩爾公約》列為「國際重要濕地」,並加入了「東亞 — 澳大利西亞遷飛區夥伴關係網絡」,以加強保育遷徙水鳥方面的國際合作和交流。米埔內后海灣拉姆薩爾濕地一帶曾記錄得約400種雀鳥,其中包括一些瀕危的品種,如黑臉琵鷺、勺嘴鷸和小青腳鷸等。

 

兩棲類及爬行類:香港共有超過100種兩棲及爬行動物, 其中蛇類佔52種。受法例保護的緬甸蟒蛇為本港體型最大的蛇類,體長可達六米;而體型最小的是鈎盲蛇,只有15厘米長。本港有21種原生蜥蜴類動物,當中的香港雙足蜥為本港特有品種,只見於數個離島。另外,在本港可找到10種原生龜鱉類動物,其中綠海龜是唯一在本地繁殖的海龜。為保護綠海龜,政府在1999年把南丫島深灣的綠海龜產卵地在繁殖季節列為限制地區,禁止遊人進入,減少他們對綠海龜及該產卵地的滋擾。


  香港共有24種兩棲類動物,其中香港湍蛙、香港瘰螈及盧氏小樹蛙均屬於《野生動物保護條例》下的受保護品種。在1999年5月,擁有本港其中一個最大的盧氏小樹蛙群落的大嶼山昂坪,被列為具特殊科學價值地點,以保護其棲息地。

 

昆蟲:本港昆蟲的種類很多,單是蝴蝶已有236種,其中包括美麗的鳳蝶。在本港眾多的飛蛾中,烏桕大蠶蛾特別巨大,展翅時翅膀闊度長達30厘米,而綠尾大蠶蛾則悅目耀眼,擁有極長的後翅尾。本港亦錄得123個蜻蜓品種,有些更是本港特有,甚至是全球首次發現的。

 

水生動物:本港的海洋動物,種類繁多,雖然主要是熱帶品種,但因受到冷熱水流季節性的衝擊,加上季候風氣候的影響,所以混合了南中國海熱帶與中國溫帶的品種。


  在華南大陸架的魚類,估計現有1 800種,其中在本港水域最為常見的是鯡魚類、魚和魚。離岸海域的紅衫、木棉與其他魚類,亦對漁民甚為重要。


  無脊椎的海洋動物,包括珊瑚、貝殼類,以至甲殼類,數量豐富。本港水域共有84個石珊瑚品種,主要分布在香港東面水域,因該處既有天然屏障,也不受珠江淡水流影響,所以孕育了豐富的珊瑚群落。


  中華白海豚和江豚是香港的「原居民」,屬定居種類,一年四季都會在香港水域出沒。所有鯨類動物在本港均受《野生動物保護條例》保護。


  本港共錄得超過190種淡水魚類,其中約有70種為初級淡水魚,牠們一生均在淡水生境度過。在這些初級淡水魚類中,鯉科魚類佔大部分。另外兩大類別的淡水魚類為鹹淡水魚類和海洋游移性魚類,在本港各錄得約50種。

 

香港濕地公園:香港濕地公園旨在推廣自然護理和教育,以及以自然為本的旅遊。公園佔地61公頃,設有一個佔地10 000平方米的訪客中心,內有互動展覽廊,展示濕地的功能和價值。戶外的濕地保護區有多種不同的生境,包括淡水沼澤、紅樹林、樹林、灌木叢、蘆葦床和泥灘,展現香港豐富多樣的濕地生態系統。公園結合了怡人的天然環境和精彩的展覽,讓訪客認識和體驗濕地的奇妙之處。


  公園亦是一個自然保育教育中心,為公眾、學校及遊客舉辦多項活動,包括導賞團、工作坊、講座及義工活動。訪客可於西鐡天水圍站轉乘輕鐡前往公園。公園入場門票的標準票價為30元,學生、長者(65歲或以上人士)和殘疾人士等的優惠門票則為15元。

 
覆檢日期 : 二零一七年五月三十一日