立法會 Legislative Council

LC Paper No. CB(1) 2069/08-09 (These minutes have been clear with the Chairman)

Ref: CB1/BC/6/08/2

Bills Committee on Genetically Modified Organisms (Control of Release) Bill

Minutes of first meeting held on Friday, 19 June 2009, at 2:15 pm in Conference Room B of the Legislative Council Building

Members present: Hon Audrey EU Yuet-mee, SC, JP (Chairman)

Dr Hon Margaret NG

Hon WONG Ting-kwong, BBS

Hon KAM Nai-wai, MH Hon Cyd HO Sau-lan Hon CHAN Hak-kan Hon Tanya CHAN

Dr Hon Priscilla LEUNG Mei-fun

Member absent : Dr Hon LEUNG Ka-lau

Clerk in attendance: Miss Becky YU

Chief Council Secretary (1)1

Staff in attendance: Miss Kitty CHENG

Assistant Legal Adviser 5

Mrs Mary TANG

Senior Council Secretary (1)2

I. Election of Chairman

Ms Margaret NG, the member who had the highest precedence among those who joined the Bills Committee, presided at the election of Chairman of the Bills Committee. Ms NG invited nominations for the chairmanship of the Bills Committee.

- 2. <u>Miss Tanya CHAN</u> nominated Ms Audrey EU, and the nomination was seconded by <u>Ms Cyd HO</u>. <u>Ms Audrey EU</u> accepted the nomination.
- 3. There being no other nominations, Ms Audrey EU was declared Chairman of the Bills Committee.

II. Schedule of meetings

- 4. <u>Members</u> agreed that the next meeting would be held on Monday, 13 July 2009, at 10:45 am to meet with the Administration.
- 5. The Bills Committee deliberated (Index of proceedings attached at **Annex**).

III. Any other business

6. There being no other business, the meeting ended at 2:20 pm.

Council Business Division 1
<u>Legislative Council Secretariat</u>
25 June 2009

Annex

Bills Committee on Genetically Modified Organisms (Control of Release) Bill

Proceedings of the meeting on Friday, 19 June 2009, at 2:15 pm in Conference Room B of the Legislative Council Building

Time marker	Speaker	Subject(s)	Action required
Agenda Item I – Election of Chairman			
000001 - 000213	Ms Margaret NG Miss Tanya CHAN Ms Cyd HO	Ms Audrey EU was elected Chairman of the Bills Committee	
Agenda Item II – Schedule of meetings			
000214 - 000450	Chairman Mr WONG Ting-kwong Ms Cyd HO Mr KAM Nai-wai	The next meeting would be held on 13 July 2009	

Council Business Division 1 <u>Legislative Council Secretariat</u> 25 June 2009