2019/09/12
Skip to content

Country Parks Plantation Enrichment Programme

Exotic plantations established in the early stage of afforestation are proven to perform well in land rehabilitation and soil erosion control, however, they are facing certain problems such as aging, crowding and slow natural regeneration of native plants. Moreover, they provide less suitable habitats and food sources to native wildlife.

Hence, the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department (AFCD) launched the “Country Parks Plantation Enrichment Programme (PEP)” in 2009 with the following main objectives:

  1. to increase biodiversity and ecological value of exotic plantations in country parks;
  2. to enhance the sustainability of the plantations, and
  3. to improve the health of trees within and reduce the chance of pest outbreaks.

Major enrichment measures generally include thinning of aging exotic tree species, planting of native tree seedlings and post-planting maintenance (weeding, fertilizing and pruning, etc.). Successful transformation of each site would require the investment of several years worth of enrichment work.   

Selecting aged, dead or unhealthy exotic trees for thinning

Selecting aged, dead or unhealthy exotic trees for thinning

Thinning of exotic species

Thinning of exotic species

PEP

Plantation after thinning by chessboard method

Planting of native seedlings

Planting of native seedlings

Adding fertilizer to seedlings

Adding fertilizer to seedlings

Weeding

Weed control measures for seedlings

 

In 2009-2019, a total of 90 hectares of exotic plantations in country parks were engaged under PEP. About 100,000 seedlings comprising near 80 native species were in-planted in PEP sites. Major native species planted include Hong Kong Gordonia (Polyspora axilllaris), Machilus (Machilus spp.), Rhodoleia (Rhodoleia championii) and Sweet Gum (Liquidambar formosana), etc. All these native seedlings were produced by AFCD’s Tai Tong Nursery.

When native seedlings reach maturity, they will be able to provide suitable food and shelter to native wildlife and enhance the biodiversity of the sites. In view of the beneficial effects of PEP, AFCD will continue to carry out PEP and extend the programme to gradually cover more exotic plantations in country parks.

If you encounter the following sign in country parks, it means that PEP work is being conducted nearby.  

PEP

 

What would happen to the thinned exotic trees? Click here to learn more

Wood

 

 

Back  Back to Top

2019/09/12
跳至内容

郊野公園植林優化計劃

 

雖然早期種植的外來先鋒樹木品種能有效地防止水土流失,但這些植林區現正面對很多問題,包括老化、生長空間不足及原生樹種自然更替的速度緩慢等。此外,外來品種樹木為本地野生動物提供不太適合的棲息地和食物來源。

因此,漁農自然護理署(漁護署)於2009年展開了"郊野公園植林優化計劃",以期望達到以下目的:

  1. 增加郊野公園內植林區的生態價值及生物多樣性;
  2. 提高植林區的可持續性;和
  3. 改善林區內的樹木健康及減少爆發蟲害的機會。

主要的植林優化工作一般包括:疏伐老化的外來品種樹木,種植原生品種樹苗和進行樹木護理工作(例如除草、施肥及疏枝等)。成功改造一片植林區需投放持續數年的優化工作。

Selection

選擇老化、枯萎或不健康的外來品種樹木進行疏伐

Felling

疏伐外來品種樹木

PEP

用棋盤方式疏伐後的植林區

planting

種植原生品種樹苗

fertilizer

為原生品種樹苗施肥

weeding

施行雜草控制措施

 

在2009至2019年期間,漁護署一直在郊野公園內進行植林優化工作,涉及面積約90公頃的外來樹種植林區。漁護署在這些植林優化地點內栽種了約80個原生品種樹苗,總數近100,000株。種植的原生品種主要有大頭茶、潤楠屬、紅花荷和楓香等。所有栽種的原生品種樹苗均由漁護署的大棠苗圃培植。

原生樹種長大後可提供果實、花蜜等資源給予野生動物,亦可為野生動物提供合適的棲息地,從以提升郊野公園植林區的生物多樣性。基於植林優化工作帶來的益處,本署將繼續推行植林優化工作,並且會逐漸擴展至其他位於郊野公園內的外來樹種植林區。

如果您在郊野公園內遇見以下的告示牌,代表附近有植林優化工作進行中。

PEP

 

疏伐後的外來品種樹木會如何處置?點擊以了解更多

PEP

Back  Back to Top